Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 17th, 2009

The turmoil of my heart can only be met by the faithful love of my Father. In him is my answer, an answer that is more profound that speech conveys, for what can capture its fullness? If I were to pray, “Lord, give me peace,” he would give it in abundance. If I were to ask, “God, give me grace,” his grace would abound all the more. This fierce love which he bestows onto me brings me to the point of tears, for in these moments, words are merely inadequate.

Some battles are best fought alone. There are just some things that other people cannot be adequate aids, merely because they are not meant to be. This is not true in all circumstances, and neither does this mean that they cannot aid in some way. But the bulk of the fight may be given for you and for you alone.

Is that scary? It is a bit. Sometimes, it is terrifying. And yet in the midst of the fight, the Lord will be found strong in weakness, perfect in his power. Indeed, the lonely battle never has to be fought truly alone; God’s Spirit intercedes for us and fights with us, and we find that whatever little efforts we have made will be matched a hundred fold by God. For he is our peace…

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

-Psalm 42:5-6

Return to your rest, my soul,
for the LORD has been good to you.
For You, LORD, rescued me from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling.
I will walk before the LORD
in the land of the living.

-Psalm 116:7-9

“And so our good Lord answered
all the questions and doubts which I could raise,
saying most comfortingly:
I make all things well,
and I can make all things well,
and I shall make all things well,
and I will make all things well;
and you will see for yourself
that every kind of thing will be well.”

-Julian of Norwich

Read Full Post »